GrindTV Blog’s Interview with Lacey Calvert: Stretch to Shred

Check out GrindTV‘s interview with California Yoga Sport trainer, Lacey Calvert, and learn about how she got into yoga, her inspiration to start athletic training, & where she would want to spend the rest of her days practicing yoga… hint: its somewhere in Central America.

Professional Snowboarder, Shayne Pospisil, in Eagle pose during Lacey's yoga class held at Mimi's Cookie Bar

Here are some snippets of the GrindTV Blog article:


What steps did you take to get to where you are today? How did you get involved with Oakley?

It seems like with all my hard work and by following my heart, everything just keeps falling into place. I started my career post-college as an elementary school teacher and after a few years working in LA Unified, I realized that career path wasn’t for me. I began practicing yoga, and it became my true passion. Then, I had a friend ask me to teach yoga for some pro surfers in HB, and realized that my love for action sports and yoga could turn into a career. Word spread; I got more clients, branched out into snow, football, baseball and BMX.

California Yoga Sport was born after I saw how yoga can benefit these professional athletes. From there, I worked my butt off to get sponsors like Oakley Women and ZICO coconut water. I think when what you do and who you are represents a brand naturally, then opportunities like Oakley Women comes along. The brand represents myself as a female athlete and strong person, with some sweet shades.

What was behind your core idea of yoga specific for action sports athletes?

Because I grew up riding a board on snow and land, I can see how beneficial yoga can be for someone in this career. I make sure that whatever sport my client is involved in, I have tried before. That way I can feel what muscles in the body are used. Yoga allows lengthening and strengthening in the targeted muscles, and overall make you a stronger, better athlete.

What would you suggest to riders that want to get involved with yoga in their local spot? Just get a hold of one of your videos?
Definitely! I am in the process of making more videos to put online for riders to download, and while on the road this is great to keep in shape and cross train. But in the meantime, I suggest everyone to just go out and try all the different styles of yoga there is. Find one that feels good for you, and keep it up.

Lacey leading a donation yoga class at Mimi's Cookie Bar in Mammoth Lakes, California

Thank you GrindTV for the interview & great adventure in Mammoth Lakes, California! Also huge thanks to Mimi’s Cookie Bar for hosting such a great yoga class with world class athletes & professional snowboarders!

Want to learn more?! Feel free to get in touch with us!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Athletics, California Yoga Sport, Fitness, Yoga

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

