Kona Ironman 2012…Finishing Last is Finishing First

The week of October 5th-October 14th, I had the opportunity to travel to Kona, Hawaii to be apart of the 2012 Ironman World’s Championship.  I went there to represent Oakley at the Ironman Expo a few days prior to the actual race.  I went there knowing I was going to be headed back to paradise, but had no idea how inspiring and moving this actual competition was.

 
Waking up at 6:00am on the day of the race was not an option.  Sure, the expo was over and we had the day “off”, but I was so excited to be apart of this community and event, I couldn’t help but to wake up with excitement.  Heading down to the start, I was overwhelmed on how many people got out of bed that early to watch the 2.4 mile swim.  The environment was buzzing as the athletes took to the water, following up with a 112-mile bike ride and 26.2 Marathon run….all in the heat that Hawaii brings everyday.

 
Sure, it was awesome to watch Pete Jacobs and Leanda Cave win for the men and the womens, but the real action was the last few hours of the race.  Around 8:00pm, I stood against a barrier lining the last few yards before the finish line.  Watching athletes ranging from 20-87 years of age, pushing their body to the limits was the most inspiring, heart melting thing I have ever done.  I wasn’t even there to support someone that I knew, but I cheered with all my might for each person that passed.  It was exhilarating to be apart of this huge crowd, who’d all been up since before the sun rose, cheering on individuals whose bodies were breaking down, yet they weren’t giving up.  Each person’s name was yelled over the loudspeaker with their own personal journey and careers.  Tears filled my eyes watching the joy that every finisher had.
In my opinion, finishing last might just be better than getting first.  Here’s some photos and a PERFECT video on the event.  Until next year Kona!

The Oakley Expo Crew!  🙂

The swim start…filling up the beaches at 7:00am!

My View of the Finish!  The crowd was so uplifting and truly a community!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Kona Ironman 2012…Finishing Last is Finishing First”

  1. October 19, 2012 at 10:43 PM #

    Wasn’t it amazing! I agree – I think the finishers in the final few hours have a much more exciting finish than the fast ones! Such an inspiring week 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » One Month To Go! Twenty-Six and Then Some - October 18, 2012

    […] when my fellow Oakley ambassador Lacey posted this video she made of the final hour at Kona this past week, I cried. I was so happy for […]

Leave a Reply

